This past month has been an overwhelming whirlwind of work & holiday obligations & merriment. It seems I’ve gotten a little behind on my posting, I do have a lot of fragments that I’m hoping to stitch together over the weekend. Meanwhile, I’ve asked one of my best friends to share a bit about her last trip to Brazil, a place I hope to visit soon.

Kim Beury:
Last year I had the wonderful opportunity to spend some time in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. One of the aspects that I was most taken back with was the beautiful street art. Every corner turned revealed another piece, whether it be political or whimsical, figurative or abstract, sticker or paint, professional or crude.
Unfortunately Rio is also know for their slums or favelas, characterized by violence, crime, drug trade, and poverty. City of God, anyone? One in five Rio residents live in a favela; there are over 500 favelas throughout the city.
Two Dutch artists, Hass&Hahn (Jeroen Koolhaas and Dre Urhahn) created the Favela Painting project in 2006 to merge street art and favela living, pervasive aspects of Rio. The murals serve many purposes. Beautifying the neighborhoods, instilling power to the community members, and creating jobs for the residents. Not to mentions it looks damn good, too.


This their first mural project in Rio, Boy with a Kite.



Mural along pathway in Vila Cruzeiro, designed together with Rob Admiraal.


Hass&Hahn

